December 5, 2016
Bookmark and Share

Low-Income College Parents Get Help With Childcare from the Government

 U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION AWARDS 104 GRANTS TO HELP LOW-INCOME PARENTS ATTEND POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan today announced that 104 colleges and universities have been awarded $10.7 million to help more low-income students with children attend postsecondary education by providing them with campus-based childcare services. 

"These grants aim to increase the number of low-income Americans attending postsecondary schools by eliminating barriers to enrollment - the financial cost of quality child care as well as the emotional stress of finding excellent care that is also accessible to their school," Duncan said. "CCAMPIS allows more student-parents to further their education and improve the skills they need to build a better future for their families. They will have peace of mind that their children are being well cared for, so they can focus on their studies." 

Funded by the Child Care Access Means Parents in School Program (CCAMPIS), the 104 grantees are located in 31 states and Puerto Rico, and include 52 four-year institutions and 52 two-year institutions. To be eligible to participate in CCAMPIS, schools were required to have awarded more $350,000 in Pell grants in fiscal year 2007. 

Schools will use their CCAMPIS funds to establish or expand childcare programs for infants and toddlers, as well as to provide before and after school services for older children. Grantees are encouraged to leverage local and institutional resources, including cash or in-kind services, and to use a sliding fee scale for students who use the child care facilities and services.

A list of grantees and awards is provided below.


AL -- Montgomery, Alabama State University, Huey-Ling Lin, (334) 229-4237, feelinglin@aol.com, $117,552.
AR -- Mena, Rich Mountain Community College, Charlotte Wiles, (479) 394-7622, cwiles@rmcc.edu, $10,525.
AZ -- Flagstaff, Northern Arizona University/Flagstaff, Deborah Harris, (925) 523-8151, deborah.harris@nau.edu, $134,064.
AZ -- Mesa, Mesa Community College, Kris Bliss, (480) 461-7081, $109,375.
AZ -- Phoenix, Phoenix College, Ginger Sandweg, (602) 285-7901, ginger.sandweg@pcmail.maricopa.edu, $50,839.
AZ -- Prescott, Yavapai Community College, Vickey LaMotte, (928) 776-2174, vickey.lamotte@yc.edu, $29,260.
AZ -- Tempe, Arizona State University, Maureen Duane, (480) 965-9723, maureen.duane@asu.edu, $272,700.
AZ -- Tucson, Pima County Community College District, Teddi Schnurr, (520) 206-4955, tschnurr@pima.edu, $114,320.
CA -- Aptos, Cabrillo Community College District, Sheila Anderson, (831) 479-6117, shanders@cabrillo.edu, $59,285.
CA -- Arcata, Humboldt State University Sponsored Programs Foundation, Trudi Walker, (707) 826-3838, 
tlw2@humboldt.edu, $93,981.
CA -- Berkeley, University of California/Berkeley, Alison Gopnik, (510) 642-2752, gopnik@berkeley.edu, $251,705.
CA -- Eureka, Redwoods Community College District, Michelle Hancock, (707) 476-4537, 
michelle-hancock@redwoods.edu, $40,864.
CA -- Fullerton, California State University/Fullerton, Betsy Gibbs, (714) 278-2962, bgibbs@fullerton.edu, $248,117.
CA -- Long Beach, California State University/Long Beach, Rhonda Marikos, (562) 985-5941, rmarikos@csulb.edu, $131,741.
CA -- Northridge, California State University/Northridge, Christina O'Dell, (818) 677-2012, codell@csun.edu, $242,784.
CA -- Palm Desert, College of the Desert Foundation, Dianne Russom, (760) 862-1308, 
drussom@collegeofthedesert.edu, $41,243.
CA -- Pasadena, Pasadena City College, Nicki Harmon, (626) 585-3181, naharmon@pasadena.edu, $142,331.
CA -- Pleasanton, Chabot-Las Positas Community College District, Vicky Tsakoyias-Mendes, (510) 723-7534, vtsakoyiasmendes@chabotcollege.edu, $43,159.
CA -- Rohnert Park, Sonoma State University, Lia Thompson-Clark, (707) 664-2230, lia.thompson-clark@sonoma.edu, $46,708.
CA -- Salinas, Hartnell Community College District, Linda Taylor, (831) 755-6945, ltaylor@hartnell.edu, $36,972.
CA -- San Bernardino, California State Univeristy/San Bernardino, Amanda Wilcox-Herzog, (909) 537-7782, awilcox@csusb.edu, $196,730.
CA -- San Diego, San Diego Mesa College, Anthony Reuss, (619) 388-2706, areuss@sdccd.edu, $59,409.
CA -- San Jacinto, Mt. San Jacinto Community College District, Kathy Turner, (951) 487-3613, kturner@msjc.edu, $60,051.
CA -- San Jose, San Jose State University Research Foundation, Frances Roth, (408) 924-6988, froth@as.sjsu.edu, $205,579.
FL -- Tallahassee, Florida State University, Nancy Selken, (850) 644-2860, nselken@admin.fsu.edu, $116,842.
GA -- Atlanta, Georgia State University, Martha Fowler, (404) 413-1676, mfowler1@gsu.edu, $194,515.
HI -- Honolulu, University of Hawaii, Wayne Watkins, (808) 956-8773, wwatkins@hawaii.edu, $81,537.
IL -- Champaign, University of Illinois/Champaign, Brent McBride, (217) 333-0971, brentmcb@illinois.edu, $82,491.
IL -- Chicago, Chicago State University, Deborah Parker, (773) 221-3004, dn-parker@csu.edu, $110,719.
IL -- Chicago Heights, Prairie State College, Kellie Clark, (708) 709-3725, kclark@prairiestate.edu, $42,676.
IL -- Edwardsville, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Rebecca Dabbs-Kayser, (618) 650-2556, 
rdabbsk@siue.edu, $75,630.
IL -- Joliet, Joliet Junior College, Beverly Cavanaugh, (815) 280-2280, bcavanau@jjc.edu, $44,675.
IL -- Oglesby, Illinois Valley Community College, Diane Christianson, (815) 224-0477, 
diane_christianson@ivcc.edu, $20,000.
IL -- University Park, Governors State University, Carol Morrison, (708) 235-7336, c-morrison@govst.edu, $26,349.
KS -- El Dorado, Butler County Community College, Sue Barrientos, (316) 323-6845, ssommers@butlercc.edu, $44,784.
KS -- Great Bend, Barton County Community College, Larissa Graham, (620) 786-1131, grahaml@bartonccc.edu, $15,355.
LA -- New Orleans, Delgado Community College, Diane Cohen, (504) 671-5602, dcohen@dcc.edu, $165,055.
MA -- Gardner, Mount Wachusett Community College, Glenn Roberts, (978) 630-9237, g_roberts@mwcc.mass.edu, $31,348.
MD -- Rockville, Montgomery College, Teresa DeLisi, (240) 567-7672, teresa.delisi@montgomerycollege.edu, $116,100.
MI -- Detroit, Wayne State University, Anna Miller, (313) 577-1686, amiller@wayne.edu, $213,545.
MI -- East Lansing, Michigan State University, Lori Strom, (517) 432-3745, strom@hr.msu.edu, $210,452.
MI -- Kalamazoo, Western Michigan University, Kathy Mohney, (269) 387-2198, mohneyk@wmich.edu, $123,177.
MI -- Lansing, Lansing Community College, Marcia Rysztak, (517) 483-1141, rysztam@lcc.edu, $132,288.
MN -- Inver Grove Heights, Inver Hills Community College, John Pogue, (651) 450-8500, jpogue@inverhills.edu, $24,416.
MN -- Minneapolis, Minneapolis Community and Technical College, Tara Martinez, (612) 659-6760, tara.martinez@minneapolis.edu, $94,679.
MN -- Saint Paul, Saint Paul College, Kelly McKown, (651) 846-1419, kelly.mckown@saintpaul.edu, $56,554.
MN -- Winona, Winona State University, June Reineke, (507) 457-5368, jmreineke@winona.edu, $40,447.
MO -- St. Louis, St. Louis Community College, Ruby Curry, (314) 513-4135, rcurry@stlcc.edu, $204,050.
MS -- Hattiesburg, University of Southern Mississippi, Sheila Brookes, (601) 266-6354, sheila.brookes@usm.edu, $155,740.
MS -- Mississippi State, Mississippi State University, Carol Jones, (662) 325-3909, cjones@colled.msstate.edu, $125,666.
MT -- Billings, Montana State University Billings, Stacy Klippenstein, (406) 657-2307, 
sklippenstein@msubillings.edu, $41,948.
NC -- Weldon, Halifax Community College, Vicki Collier, (252) 536-4221, collierv@halifaxcc.edu, $21,537.
NE -- Lincoln, Southeast Community College Area, Kari Schell, (402) 437-2454, kschell@southeast.edu, $62,551.
NJ -- Jersey City, New Jersey City University, Keri Giordano, (201) 200-3342, kgiordano@njcu.edu, $88,597.
NJ -- Wayne, William Paterson University, Cindy Gennarelli, (973) 720-2529, gennarellic@wpunj.edu, $63,571.
NM -- Clovis, Clovis Community College, April Chavez, (575) 769-4061, april.chavez@clovis.edu, $23,700.
NM -- Farmington, San Juan College, Linda Garrison, (505) 566-3207, $47,683.
NY -- Brockport, SUNY/Brockport, Lou Sweigman, (585) 395-2276, lsweigma@brockport.edu, $66,298.
NY -- Brooklyn, CUNY/Brooklyn College, Lorraine Mondesir, (718) 951-5431, mondesir@brooklyn.cuny.esu, $186,552.
NY -- Brooklyn, CUNY/New York City College of Technology, Wendy Woods, (718) 260-5191, 
wwoods@citytech.cuny.edu, $210,907.
NY -- Buffalo, Erie Community College, Vickie Calderon, (716) 851-1152, calderon@ecc.edy, $64,599.
NY -- Greenvale, Long Island University, Ianthe Jackson, (718) 246-6488, ianthe.jackson@liu.edu, $99,789.
NY -- New York, CUNY/Borough of Manhattan Comm. College, Cecilia Scott-Croff, (212) 220-8251, 
cscottcroff@bmcc.cuny.edu, $324,000.
NY -- Rochester, Monroe Community College, Anne Barker, (585) 292-2642, abarker@monroecc.edu, $179,341.
NY -- Syracuse, Onondaga Community College, Michele Ferguson, (315) 498-2104, fergusom@sunyocc.edu, $77,486.
OH -- Cleveland, Cleveland State University, Kathleen Mooney, (216) 687-5540, k.a.mooney@csuohio.edu, $113,803.
OR -- Albany, Linn-Benton Community College, Susan Knapp, (541) 917-4961, knapps@linnbenton.edu, $41,113.
OR -- Eugene, Lane Community College, Sue Norton, (541) 463-3301, nortons@lanecc.edu, $106,963.
OR -- Gresham, Mt. Hood Community College, Kristin Kiely Pearson, (503) 491-6916, pearsonk@mhcc.edu, $47,875.
OR -- Portland, Portland Community College, Sonya Stevens, (503) 614-7511, sonya.stevens@pcc.edu, $168,741.
OR -- Roseburg, Umpqua Community College, Lynn Moore, (541) 440-4677, lynn.moore@umpqua.edu, $28,566.
PA -- Bethlehem, Northampton County Area Community College, Faye Freer, (570) 688-2489, ffreer@northampton.edu, $52,041.
PA -- California, California University of Pennsylvania, Nancy Skobel, (724) 938-5707, skobel@cup.edu, $54,825.
PA -- Harrisburg, Harrisburg Area Community College, Winnie Richards, (717) 780-2581, wsrichar@hacc.edu, $62,854.
PA -- Schnecksville, Lehigh Carbon Community College, Mary McCauley, (610) 799-1788, mmccauley@lccc.edu, $41,142.
PA -- Slippery Rock, Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania, Cathy George, (724) 738-2751, 
cathy.george@sru.edu, $23,480.
PA -- University Park, Pennsylvania State University, Stephanie Zezzo, (800) 746-6759, sxc168@psu.edu, $375,000.
PA -- Williamsport, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Karen Payne, (570) 320-2400, kpayne@pct.edu, $65,202.
PR -- San Juan, Inter American University of Puerto Rico/Ponce Campus, Eunice Cordero, (787) 284-1912, ecordero@ponce.inter.edu, $104,901.
PR -- San Juan, Inter American University of Puerto Rico-San German Campus, Cecilia Marulanda, (787) 264-1912, cmarulan@alpha.sg.inter.edu, $138,152.
SC -- Columbia, South Carolina Research Foundation, Heidi From, (864) 503-5315, hfrom@uscupstate.edu, $52,173.
TN -- Johnson City, East Tennessee State University, Beverly Wiginton, (423) 439-4888, wiginton@etsu.edu, $94,295.
TX -- Alpine, Sul Ross State University, Laura Cantu, (432) 837-0900, lcantu@sulross.edu, $36,832.
TX -- Canyon, West Texas A&M University, Jon Davis, (806) 651-2335, jdavis@wtamu.edu, $54,104.
TX -- Denton, University of North Texas, Troy Johnson, (940) 565-4602, troy.johnson@unt.edu, $198,347.
TX -- Edinburg, University of Texas/Pan American, Elda Perez, (956) 381-2469, perezmelda@utpa.edu, $292,554.
TX -- Kingsville, Texas A&M University-Kingsville, Mary Gonzalez, (361) 593-2129, kamlp00@tamuk.edu, $77,993.
TX -- San Antonio, Alamo Community College District - St. Philip's College, Sharon Evans, (210) 486-2501, sevans45@mail.accd.edu, $138,460.
TX -- San Antonio, Palo Alto College, Kelly Kring, (210) 486-3000, kkring@mail.accd.edu, $104,553.
TX -- San Antonio, San Antonio College, Ellen Marshall, (210) 486-0516, emarshall@mail.accd.edu, $222,309.
UT -- Cedar City, Southern Utah University, Curtis Hill, (435) 865-8621, hillc@suu.edu, $58,605.
UT -- Orem, Utah Valley University, Carol Verbecky, (801) 863-6039, verbecca@uvu.edu, $172,970.
UT -- Salt Lake City, Salt Lake Community College, Marlin Clark, (801) 957-4004, marlin.clark@slcc.edu, $111,763.
WA -- Everett, Everett Community College, Kelly Davidson, (425) 388-9120, $36,080.
WA -- Lynnwood, Edmonds Community College, Lisa Neumann, (425) 640-1250, lisa.neumann@edcc.edu, $31,235.
WA -- Pullman, Washington State University, Mary Radziemski, (509) 335-8847, mradziemski@wsu.edu, $143,812.
WA -- Spokane, Washington State Community College/Spokane, Patricia Allen, (509) 533-4820, 
pallen@iel.spokane.edu, $173,165.
WA -- Vancouver, Clark College, Laurie Cornelius, (360) 992-2398, lcornelius@clark.edu, $62,220.
WI -- Cleveland, Lakeshore Technical College, Denise Schroeder, (920) 693-1243, denise.schroeder@gotoltc.edu, $12,245.
WI -- Eau Claire, University of Wisconsin/Eau Claire, Rebecca Wurzer, (715) 836-2178, wurzerrp@uwec.edu, $52,110.
WI -- La Crosse, Western Technical College, Sharlene Weibel, (608) 785-9541, weibels@westerntc.edu, $37,757.
WI -- Madison, Madison Area Technical College, Keith Cornille, (608) 246-6464, kcornille@matcmadison.edu, $54,714.
WI -- Madison, University of Wisconsin/Madison, Lynn Edlefson, (608) 262-9715, ledlefson@provost.wisc.edu, $100,860.
WI -- Milwaukee, University of Wisconsin/Milwaukee, Pamla Boulton, (414) 229-5384, boulton@uwm.edu, $147,594.



Back to top
| Back to home page
Video

White House Live Stream
LIVE VIDEO EVERY SATURDAY
alsharpton Rev. Al Sharpton
9 to 11 am EST
jjackson Rev. Jesse Jackson
10 to noon CST


Video

LIVE BROADCASTS
Sounds Make the News ®
WAOK-Urban
Atlanta - WAOK-Urban
KPFA-Progressive
Berkley / San Francisco - KPFA-Progressive
WVON-Urban
Chicago - WVON-Urban
KJLH - Urban
Los Angeles - KJLH - Urban
WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
New York - WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
WADO-Spanish
New York - WADO-Spanish
WBAI - Progressive
New York - WBAI - Progressive
WOL-Urban
Washington - WOL-Urban

Listen to United Natiosns News