May 22, 2018
Bookmark and Share

African-American Film Critics Association Selects "Precious" As Top Film

 Organization Will Present Awards at First Annual Live Event  

Los Angeles, CA – The African-American Film Critics Association (AAFCA) has named “Precious” as the Best Picture of 2009.  Directed by Lee Daniels, the Lionsgate release captured a majority vote by the organization, which is comprised of African-American media professionals from across the nation.  Founded in 2003, AAFCA will present this year’s honors at its first live event tonight, Monday, December 14, 2009, at the historic Ebony Repertory Theatre in Los Angeles. 

Morgan Freeman was selected as Best Actor 2009 for “Invictus.”  Nicole Beharie earned AAFCA recognition as Best Actress 2009 for “American Violet.”  With the first unanimous vote in an acting category in the organization’s history, Mo’Nique was selected Best Supporting Actress for “Precious.”  Anthony Mackie earned Best Supporting Actor recognition for his performance in “The Hurt Locker.”  Lee Daniels was named Best Director for “Precious,” with a tie for Best Screenplay between Ron Clements, Rob Edwards, John Musker for "The Princess & The Frog" and Geoffrey Fletcher for "Precious." 

“In 2009, the film community produced a dazzling array of performances from African-American talent both in front of and behind the camera,” states Gil Robertson IV, AAFCA Co-Founder.  “This year’s selections give a strong indication that the film community is becoming more committed to a wider range of stories that entertain and educate.”  

AAFCA bestows Special Achievement Award to Michael Jackson, whose seminal film “This Is It” captured a lifetime of exemplary creative expression.   

The organization’s Top Ten list of film honors includes “Up In The Air,” “The Hurt Locker” and “Good Hair.”  “The films selected for 2009 reflect a fascinating combination of work that both entertains and addresses themes and issues of cultural importance,” remarks AAFCA President, Wilson Morales, editor of


A complete list follows.   

         1. Precious

         2. The Princess and The Frog

         3. Up In The Air

         4. The Hurt Locker

         5. This Is It

         6. American Violet

         7. Goodbye Solo

         8. Medicine for Melancholy

         9. Good Hair

        10. Up


Best Actor   Morgan Freeman, “Invictus”

Best Actress   Nicole Beharie, “American Violet”

Best Supporting Actress Mo’Nique, “Precious”

Best Supporting Actor Anthony Mackie. “The Hurt Locker”

Best Director   Lee Daniels, “Precious”

Best Screenplay (tie)  Geoffrey Fletcher, "Precious"

                      R. Clements, R. Edwards, J. Musker, "The Princess & The Frog"

Special Achievement   Michael Jackson




Founded in 2003, AAFCA honors films with universal appeal to black communities, emphasizing films about the black experience by producers, writers, directors and actors of African descent. 

Ava DuVernay | Tilane Jones

The DuVernay Agency


Back to top
| Back to home page

White House Live Stream
alsharpton Rev. Al Sharpton
9 to 11 am EST
jjackson Rev. Jesse Jackson
10 to noon CST


Sounds Make the News ®
Atlanta - WAOK-Urban
Berkley / San Francisco - KPFA-Progressive
Chicago - WVON-Urban
KJLH - Urban
Los Angeles - KJLH - Urban
WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
New York - WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
New York - WADO-Spanish
WBAI - Progressive
New York - WBAI - Progressive
Washington - WOL-Urban

Listen to United Natiosns News