Today's Date: May 21, 2022
Checkmarx' Ana Lucia Amaral Honored as a CRN 2022 Woman of the Channel   •   Igloo Releases New Playmate Coolers Inspired by Legendary Rapper The Notorious B.I.G.   •   Five Bluum Standouts Honored on CRN 2022 Women of the Channel List   •   Jeunesse Garners 8 Gold Stevies in 2022 American Business Awards   •   Sallie Mae’s Latest Corporate Social Responsibility Report Highlights Commitment to Customers, Communities, Employees, an   •   Mrs. Flowers Takes the Helm at Comfort Home Care, Rockville, MD   •   Global Surrogacy Services Announces Outreach to Potential Gestational Surrogates in Three Southwestern States   •   Eastern Bank Welcomes New Members To Its Board of Advisors and Board of Ambassadors   •   Four recipients of the 2022 Awards of Excellence in Nursing announced from Indigenous Services Canada   •   Steve and Marjorie Harvey Establish the Legacy Ranch in Upson County, Georgia - Building on The Rock Ranch founded by the Cathy   •   Tracey Hayes from MicroAge Named on CRN's 2022 Women of the Channel Power 70 Solution Providers List   •   Albertsons Companies, in cooperation with Smithfield Packaged Meats Corp., voluntarily recalls select ReadyMeals and deli-prepar   •   NCCI Golf Event Generates $25,000 for Kids' Chance of America Scholarships   •   RNR Tire Express Surprises Tampa-Area Woman with New Car in Mother's Day Giveaway   •   Tia Extends “Whole Woman, Whole Life” Care Model With Fertility Services   •   Merz Aesthetics Partners With North Carolina Courage of the National Women's Soccer League to Fuel Confidence on and off the fie   •   Equitable Bank Releases Inaugural ESG Performance Report   •   Belgard Canada Celebrates Canada Day With a Backyard Giveaway   •   Closing the Health Disparity Gap for Black Women   •   TherapeuticsMD Receives U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Approval for Supplemental New Drug Application (sNDA) for ANNOVE
Bookmark and Share

Emory University to Honor Activists


Emory to Award James Weldon Johnson Medals Nov. 4

Six renowned individuals will be honored for achievements in their fields during the James Weldon Johnson Medal ceremony hosted by Emory University's James Weldon Johnson Institute (JWJI) on Wednesday, Nov. 4 at the Carter Center.  The medals honor the legacy and accomplishments of Johnson, the legendary writer, journalist, civil rights leader, musician and humanitarian. 

This year's medalists include:

  • Author Alice Walker, for literature;
  • Women's rights pioneer Gloria Steinem, for journalism; and
  • U.S. Rep. John Lewis and activist Myrlie Evers Williams (widow of murdered civil rights leader Medgar Evers), for civil rights.

Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin and E. Neville Isdell, former CEO of the Coca-Cola Company, will each receive the first-ever Humanitarian Award, established in 2007 by the Johnson Institute to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to humankind in the tradition of Johnson. The ceremony marks the 13th awarding of the medals, and the first time the awards have been given by Emory's JWJI, the new institutional sponsor for them.

"As the custodian of the Johnson Medal, the Johnson Institute is pleased to honor six individuals who have enriched our national life in the tradition of James Weldon Johnson," says Rudolph Byrd, director of the JWJI and the Goodrich C. Professor of American studies. "We invite the people of Atlanta to join us in honoring the women and men who have distinguished themselves in the several areas in which Johnson established the highest standards of excellence."

Actress Regina Taylor will serve as mistress of ceremonies, and Emory President James W. Wagner will offer remarks and present one award. On Nov. 5, the six medalists will take part in a colloquium panel discussion on the Emory campus for undergraduate students on "Lessons Learned Along the Way."

The Johnson Medal is one of the signature programs of the Johnson Institute.  Along with honoring the life and legacy of James Weldon Johnson, the Johnson Medal is the institute's principal fundraiser.  Tickets are $25. All funds raised through this award provide ongoing and future support of the institute's various programs.

Advance tickets are available through the Emory Alumni Web site. For more information, call 404.727.2515.

Established by Ollie Jewel Sims Okala and Sondra Kathryn Wilson, historian, author and executer of the estate of Grace Nail and James Weldon Johnson, the Johnson Medal has been awarded since 1992 under the auspices of the James Weldon Johnson Foundation.

All events will be filmed and placed on Emory's iTunesU. The event is sponsored in part by Coca Cola, AT&T Georgia, Georgia Pacific, Delta Air Lines, Emory's Office of University-Community Partnerships and the estate of Grace Nail and James Weldon Johnson.



  1. Beverly Clark: 404.712.8780

Back to top
| Back to home page

White House Live Stream
Breaking News
alsharpton Rev. Al Sharpton
9 to 11 am EST
jjackson Rev. Jesse Jackson
10 to noon CST


Sounds Make the News ®
Atlanta - WAOK-Urban
Berkley / San Francisco - KPFA-Progressive
Chicago - WVON-Urban
KJLH - Urban
Los Angeles - KJLH - Urban
New York - WADO-Spanish
WBAI - Progressive
New York - WBAI - Progressive
WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
New York - WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
Washington - WOL-Urban

Listen to United Natiosns News