September 23, 2020         
Celmatix Achieves Second Milestone in Women’s Health Drug Discovery Alliance with Evotec   •   FDI World Dental Federation and Smile Train: Children with clefts are at high risk for tooth decay, gum disease and other seriou   •   Neurelis Announces Program To Investigate The Safety And Pharmacokinetics Of VALTOCO® (Diazepam Nasal Spray) In Children Age   •   CDI Labs HuProt™ Protein arrays instrumental in recent study of Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C)   •   Senior Care Authority® Offers Course for Certified Dementia Practitioner Accreditation   •   Chief Partners with Rich Talent Group   •   Celmatix Announces New Advisory Board   •   obVus Solutions' minder® Laptop Tower Stand Named “Best Overall” by Wired Magazine   •   E*TRADE Study Reveals Childcare Is a Major Retirement Savings Barrier for Parents Amid Pandemic   •   Husky Energy gives Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada to schools in Saskatchewan   •   Get "Screen Overloaded" Kids Outside - with the Help of TurfMutt!   •   Ben & Jerry's Calls On Fans To March To The Polls In November   •   Exelon’s 2020 Diversity & Inclusion Honor Roll Recognizes Business Partners Advancing These Core Values   •   Jeunesse EXPO 2020 Vision: Global Virtual Event Breaks World Record   •   Truist Donates $40 Million to Launch Innovative Nonprofit Fund Supporting Ethnically, Racially Diverse and Women-Owned Small Bus   •   Blue Blocks Montessori School from India files a record 5 patents for student Inventions in Drones   •   Amazfit Smartwatches Debut at Walmart   •   Citi Launches More Than $1 Billion in Strategic Initiatives to Help Close the Racial Wealth Gap   •   BlackNorth Initiative Continues to Gain Momentum with over 100 Signed CEO Pledges Since July Launch   •   Wearable Technology Could Prevent COVID-19 Complications And Death For People Recovering At Home
Bookmark and Share

Magnet School Grants Awarded

 WASHINGTON - U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan has announced the award of $100 million in Magnet School grants to 36 school districts in 15 states.  The awards will help school districts increase public school choices for parents and help districts attract a diverse group of students from throughout their communities.
Magnet School grants provide funding to districts for up to three years.  The first-year grants range in size from $470,000 to $4 million.  The awards will help school districts bring diverse groups of children together through the use of innovative educational programs and will create more school choices for parents.
The funds awarded today will help school districts establish new magnet schools or expand existing magnet programs that are part of a school district's voluntary or required desegregation plan.
“Magnet schools play an important role in providing public school options for parents and in diversifying public schools,” Secretary of Education Arne Duncan said. 
The purpose of the program is to:
    • eliminate, reduce, or prevent minority group isolation in elementary and secondary schools with substantial proportions of minority students;
    • develop and implement magnet school programs that will assist in achieving systemic reforms and provide all students the opportunity to meet challenging state academic content standards and student achievement standards;
    • develop innovative educational methods and practices that promote diversity and increase choices in public elementary and secondary schools;
    • promote courses of instruction within magnet schools that will substantially strengthen students' knowledge of academic subjects and attainment of tangible and marketable vocational, technological, and professional skills;
    • improve the capacity of school districts to continue operating magnet schools after federal funding ends; and,
    • ensure that all students in magnet schools programs have equitable access to high-quality education that enables them to succeed academically and continue with post-secondary education or productive employment.
The Magnet Schools Assistance Program is authorized under Title V, Part A of the Elementary and Secondary Act, as amended in 1994 and is administered by the Office of Innovation and Improvement.
Following is a list of Magnet School Assistance Program Grantees for FY 2010:
    • Tucson Unified School District – $2,376,751
Tucson, Arizona
    • ABC Unified School District – $2,023,192
Cerritos, California
    • Desert Sands Unified School District – $1,284,840
La Quinta, California
    • Glendale Unified School District – $2,668,758
Glendale, California
    • Los Angeles Unified School District – $3,615,131
Los Angeles, California
    • Moorpark Unified School District – $852,025
Moorpark, California
    • Napa Valley Unified School District – $2,591,864
Napa, California
    • San Diego Unified School District – $2,608,180
San Diego, California
    • Ventura Unified School District – $850,000
Ventura, California
    • El Paso County School District #11 – $2,334,368
Colorado Springs, Colorado
    • Area Cooperative Educational Services – $473,767
North Haven, Connecticut
    • Capitol Region Education Council – $3,729,379
Hartford, Connecticut
    • New Haven Public Schools – $3,017,801
New Haven, Connecticut
    • Duval County Public Schools – $4,000,000
Jacksonville, Florida
    • Hillsborough County Public Schools  – $3,904,128
Tampa, Florida
    • School Board of Polk County – $3,964,935
Bartow, Florida
    • The School Board of Broward County – $3,137,326
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
    • Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township – $3,990,901
Indianapolis, Indiana
    • Unified School District 259 dba Wichita Public Schools – $1,007,711
Wichita, Kansas
    • Lafayette Parish School Board – $3,941,306
Lafayette, Louisiana
    • Tangipahoa Parish School District – $2,046,177
Amite, Louisiana
    • Springfield Public Schools – $3,889,500
Springfield, Massachusetts
    • Independent School District 197 – $2,211,380
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
    • Cleveland School District – $1,092,899
Cleveland, Mississippi
New York
    • City School District of Albany – $2,500,000
Albany, New York
    • Community School District 14 – $3,382,808
Brooklyn, New York
    • Community School District 3 – $3,765,525
New York, New York
    • Community School District 30 – $3,787,532
Long Island City, New York
South Carolina
    • Orangeburg County Consolidated School District Three – $2,152,025
Holly Hill, South Carolina
    • Richland School District Two – $2,828,890
Columbia, South Carolina
    • Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools – $4,000,000
Nashville, Tennessee
    • Corpus Christi Independent School District – $2,256,619
Corpus Christi, Texas
    • Ector Independent School District – $2,267,860
Odessa, Texas
    • Galveston Independent School District – $3,950,000
Galveston, Texas
    • Houston Independent School District – $3,736,835
Houston, Texas
    • The Rhodes School – $1,321,003
Houston, Texas


Back to top
| Back to home page

White House Live Stream
alsharpton Rev. Al Sharpton
9 to 11 am EST
jjackson Rev. Jesse Jackson
10 to noon CST


Sounds Make the News ®
Atlanta - WAOK-Urban
Berkley / San Francisco - KPFA-Progressive
Chicago - WVON-Urban
KJLH - Urban
Los Angeles - KJLH - Urban
WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
New York - WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
New York - WADO-Spanish
WBAI - Progressive
New York - WBAI - Progressive
Washington - WOL-Urban

Listen to United Natiosns News