Today's Date: February 1, 2023
South University to Expand Minority Access to Education and Healthcare Through New MOUs with Alabama State University and Wallac   •   Watercrest Senior Living Group Celebrates Rose Pietras, VP of Marketing on her Nine Year Employment Anniversary   •   Frontera Included in the 2023 Bloomberg Gender Equality Index GEI   •   WM Announces Fourth Quarter and Full-Year 2022 Earnings   •   Shin-Nihon Public Affairs Announces Yasuhisa Shiozaki to join as Special Advisor   •   Adicet Bio Reports Inducement Grants under Nasdaq Listing Rule 5635(c)(4)   •   SHAREHOLDER ACTION ALERT: The Schall Law Firm Encourages Investors in Invivyd, Inc. f/k/a Adagio Therapeutics, Inc. with Losses   •   AviadoBio Announces Appointment of Jeff Goater as Chair of the Board of Directors   •   Ellipses Pharma Announces FDA Approval of IND Application for EP0042 for Patients With Acute Myeloid Leukaemia   •   SolarWinds to Host EMEA Transform Partner Summit, Emphasizing Company’s Growing Focus on Channel Partners   •   Population Media Center's Debut Podcasts Nominated for The Ambies   •   Kioxia Installs Solar Power Generation Systems at Kitakami and Yokkaichi Plants in Japan in Major New Sustainability Initiative   •   Global campaign launches to 'correct the internet' and make sportswomen more visible   •   Marin Software and Yahoo Integration Enhances Programmatic Ad Campaign Buying and Optimization   •   Jereh Showcases its Innovative ESG-Compliant Fracturing Technology at HFTC2023   •   SK D&D Episode, Publication of First Global Coliving Trend Report   •   ZooTampa and Tampa General Hospital Announce Long-Term Partnership to Promote a Healthier Community   •   Robert Half Named to 2023 Bloomberg Gender-Equality Index   •   INVESTOR ACTION REMINDER: The Schall Law Firm Encourages Investors in Allianz SE with Losses of $100,000 to Contact the Firm   •   Acura Wins Third Consecutive Rolex 24 at Daytona
Bookmark and Share

National Teleconference On Immigration Reform To Be Held Nov. 18th

National Teleconference on Immigration Reform Nov. 18th, 8 pm EST/5 pm PST

On November 18th the Reform Immigration FOR America Campaign (RI4A) will host a national teleconference with Congressman Luis Guittierez who will discuss his intention to introduce comprehensive immigration reform legislation before the end of the year.

To ensure participation of Asian American and Pacific Islander communities, Asian Pacific Americans for Progress (APAP), the Asian American Justice Center/Asian Pacific American Legal Center in Los Angeles and South Asians for Opportunity will be working to organize AAPI venues/homes/offices around the country.

Parties scheduled for New York, Long Beach, San Gabriel Valley, Washington, Chicago, Philadelphia and more. For more info or to find a party near you, go to http://bit.ly/3CuRE8 or email Curtis at curtis@apaforprogress.org.

Virtual Townhall with Rep. Luis Guiterrez
Wednesday, November 18, 2009
8PM EST / 5PM PST
 

Hosting a party
We are asking organizations and individuals to host an event at your home or community center for 10-15 people (or more if you have the capacity). Participants will be asked to listen and participate in the teleconference and then have a follow up discussion about the needs of AAPI communities and how AAPIs can get more involved in campaigning for immigration reform.

Hosts/organizers should register their events on the Reform Immigration FOR America website at http://salsa.wiredforchange.com/o/5691/t/5354/content .jsp?content_KEY=2968. Participants call also register.

AGENDA FOR THE EVENT: This is a suggested agenda for the event, but hosts/organizers can adapt as needed:
4:30PM PST/7:30PM EST: Participants arrive, sign in and get food
4:50PM PST/7:50PM EST: Welcome and overview by the Host, info on organizations
5PM PST/8PM EST: Join the Teleconference
5:30PM PST/8:30PM EST: Using discussion
questions (provided by AAJC/APALC) to have a follow up discussion with participants.
5:55 PM PST/8:55 PM EST: Ask participants to sign post cards and participate in other campaign actions (text campaign, facebook, petition, writing op-eds)
6 PM PST/9PM EST: Adjourn

We will provide the following materials to all hosts: Sign in sheets
Brochures on AAPI immigration needs
Discussion Guide
AAPI-specific Post Cards for Immigration Reform
Handbills for the RI4A Text-in Campaign
Staff contact for any questions/needs
Stamped Envelopes for Report Backs

HOST/ORGANIZER'S RESPONSIBILITY:
Hosts/organizers will be expected to do the following: Register the event at http://salsa.wiredforchange.com/o/5691/t/5354/content .jsp?content_KEY=2968
Report back to APAP and AAJC/APALC by mailing the sign in sheet, post cards and having a short discussion with the staff contact.

Please let us know if you can join us.

Sincerely,


Asian Pacific Americans for Progress


 


 



Back to top
| Back to home page
Video

White House Live Stream
LIVE VIDEO EVERY SATURDAY
alsharpton Rev. Al Sharpton
9 to 11 am EST
jjackson Rev. Jesse Jackson
10 to noon CST


Video

LIVE BROADCASTS
Sounds Make the News ®
WAOK-Urban
Atlanta - WAOK-Urban
KPFA-Progressive
Berkley / San Francisco - KPFA-Progressive
WVON-Urban
Chicago - WVON-Urban
KJLH - Urban
Los Angeles - KJLH - Urban
WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
New York - WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
WADO-Spanish
New York - WADO-Spanish
WBAI - Progressive
New York - WBAI - Progressive
WOL-Urban
Washington - WOL-Urban

Listen to United Natiosns News