Today's Date: June 3, 2023
San Francisco Pride Announces Headliners Hayley Kiyoko and Princess Nokia for 53rd Annual SF Pride Parade & Celebration Feat   •   CURE HOSTS "AI FOR GOOD" SUPER SESSION TO MAKE SENSE OF BIG DATA AND HIGH TECH AT 2023 BIO INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION ON JUNE 5   •   BURGERFI DEADLINE ALERT: Bragar Eagel & Squire, P.C. Reminds Investors that a Class Action Lawsuit Has Been Filed Against Bu   •   The Assembly of First Nations and the Government of Canada announce updates to school design standards for schools on-reserve   •   INVESTOR ALERT: Law Offices of Howard G. Smith Continues Investigation of DZS Inc. (DZSI) on Behalf of Investors   •   Promoting Diversity and Equity in Cancer Research, Women Leaders in Oncology® and Vaniam Group Announce Recipients of 2023 Y   •   ETHNIC CONFLICTS IN NIGERIA: UNMASKING THE PUPPET MASTERS   •   HESAI DEADLINE ALERT: Bragar Eagel & Squire, P.C. Reminds Investors that a Class Action Lawsuit Has Been Filed Against Hesai   •   Kirby McInerney LLP Reminds Investors That a Class Action Lawsuit Has Been Filed on Behalf of LivePerson, Inc. (LPSN) Investors   •   Hilton brings back exclusive pop-up hotel experience 'Hilton on the Green' to the 2023 RBC Canadian Open   •   FNKO INVESTOR NOTICE: Robbins Geller Rudman & Dowd LLP Announces that Funko, Inc. Investors with Substantial Losses Have Opp   •   56 Trilogy Health Services Communities Earn 2023 AHCA/NCAL Bronze National Quality Award   •   Statement from Minister Hutchings on progress in support of rural Canadians   •   SHAREHOLDER ACTION ALERT: The Schall Law Firm Encourages Investors in Funko, Inc. with Losses of $100,000 to Contact the Firm   •   Rapid Dose Announces Proposed Private Placement Financing   •   UNice Celebrates LGBTQ Pride Month   •   Navidea Biopharmaceuticals, Inc. Receives NYSE American Notice   •   SENTINELONE ALERT: Bragar Eagel & Squire, P.C. is Investigating SentinelOne, Inc. on Behalf of SentinelOne Stockholders and   •   Bijou Ikli named new CEO by Florida Assisted Living Association   •   INVESTOR ALERT: Law Offices of Howard G. Smith Continues Investigation of SentinelOne, Inc. (S) on Behalf of Investors
Bookmark and Share

UF Health Jacksonville Honors 2023 Awardees for Patient Safety Efforts

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. , March 30 /Businesswire/ - UF Health Jacksonville today awarded six recipients for their patient safety efforts across the world with the 2023 Robert Wears Patient Safety Award.

The award is named in honor of Robert L. Wears, M.D., MS, PhD, for his pioneering work to improve patient safety. Dr. Wears was an emergency medicine physician in the UF College of Medicine – Jacksonville for nearly three decades and transformed patient safety research. The award honors winners in four categories who have significantly impacted the field of patient safety through critical analysis, research, education or knowledge dissemination.

“Dr. Wears’ work in patient safety made an incredible impact, and those honored with this award in his name have continued that legacy,” said Steven A. Godwin, M.D., FACEP, chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at UF Health Jacksonville. “Congratulations to all of our esteemed winners for their passion, dedication and leadership in patient safety. Their work is crucial to improving patient outcomes and creating a safer healthcare system around the world.”

This year’s winners, awarded at a virtual awards presentation today, are:


Dr. Kathryn Kellogg, VP of Patient Safety & Infection Prevention, MedStar Health, Maryland

Joe Kiani, Founder, Patient Safety Movement Foundation and Founder, Chairman and CEO, Masimo, California


Dr. Saravana Kumar (India) and the International Federation of Emergency Medicine and Quality/Patient Safety Special Interest Group


Dr. David Nash and Charles Wohlforth, Pennsylvania


Anna Palmisano, M.D., Maryland

Dr. Wears provided mentorship and guidance to an array of healthcare providers pursuing careers in safety science, and during his long career served on the editorial boards of 10 major medical and patient safety journals and was a reviewer for dozens more. The award named in his honor was established in 2018 to single out health care professionals who significantly impact the field of patient safety though critical analysis, research, education or knowledge dissemination.

STORY TAGS: Florida, Health, Hospitals, Clinical Trials, General Health, Pharmaceutical, Biotechnology, Award, Product/Service, United States, United Kingdom, Australia/Oceania, Australia, New Zealand, Latin America, North America, Ireland, Canada, Europe,


White House Live Stream
Breaking News
alsharpton Rev. Al Sharpton
9 to 11 am EST
jjackson Rev. Jesse Jackson
10 to noon CST


Sounds Make the News ®
Atlanta - WAOK-Urban
Berkley / San Francisco - KPFA-Progressive
Chicago - WVON-Urban
KJLH - Urban
Los Angeles - KJLH - Urban
WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
New York - WKDM-Mandarin Chinese
New York - WADO-Spanish
WBAI - Progressive
New York - WBAI - Progressive
Washington - WOL-Urban

Listen to United Natiosns News